Unterstützung der Konventgemeinde

Der Vorstand

DSC 0231Der Konvent der Bürgermeister für Klima und Energie ist eine einzigartige, von Bürgermeistern gelenkte politische Bewegung.

Der Vorstand des Europäischen Konvents der Bürgermeister gibt kommunalen und regionalen politischen Führern die Gelegenheit, eine größere Rolle bei der Gestaltung und Steuerung der Initiative zu spielen. Die Mitglieder des Vorstands setzen sich zudem auf nationaler und europäischer Ebene für die Entwicklung von besseren Rahmenbedingungen für lokale klima- und energiepolitische Maßnahmen ein, und versuchen bei europäischen und nationalen Entscheidungsträgern Bewusstsein für die Bedürfnisse auf lokaler Ebene zu schaffen.

Der Vorstand des Konvents der Bürgermeister hat zum Ziel, die strategische Ausrichtung der Initiative zu diskutieren, und soll sicherstellen, dass diese den Anforderungen der Städte optimal entspricht und noch besser an ihre Erwartungen angepasst wird, sowie den Dialog zwischen den Teilnehmern des europäischen Konvents und den EU-Institutionen zu fördern.

Der Vorstand besteht aus 7 Bürgermeistern und Bürgermeisterinnen und lokal gewählten Vertretern und Vertreterinnen.


  • Name: Alexander Vandersmissen
    Position: Mayor of Mechelen
    Land: Belgium

    "Of all governmental levels, local authorities are most probably nearest to the citizens. That is why mayors must lead by example and work together in their responsibility to convince our citizens of the necessity and urgency of the energy shift and other climate ambitions in this covenant.”

  • Name: Belinda Gottardi
    Position: Mayor of Castel Maggiore
    Land: Italy

    "The fight against climate change must be channelled through a new awareness of Local Governments and citizens, the awareness of the need for a global commitment and a radical change in our lifestyle. This cultural transition must be guided by local administrations in a shared and participatory path with economic and social actors together with citizens."

  • Name: Daniel Butler
    Position: Mayor of the City and County of Limerick
    Land: Ireland
  • Name: Eckart Würzner
    Position: Mayor of Heidelberg
    Land: Germany

    "We are ready to go further in our actions in order to accelerate the energy transition and tackle climate change, in line with the Paris Agreement."

  • Name: Hermano Sanches Ruivo
    Position: Deputy Mayor of Paris
    Land: France
  • Name: Julije Domac
    Position: Director of REGEA, the North-West Croatia Energy Agency
    Land: Croatia

    "European regions and energy agencies should play a key role in planning, developing and implementing sustainable energy projects at all levels."

  • Name: Katarina Luhr
    Position: Deputy Mayor of Stockholm
    Land: Sweden

    "As elected officials we owe it to our citizens to not only acknowledge the dangers of global warming, but ensure they never actually come to pass. That’s why Stockholm joined the Covenant of Mayors."

  • Name: Martin Horn
    Position: Lord Mayor of Freiburg
    Land: Germany

    "We need to enact a rapid and deep transformation of our society to ensure that it is more sustainable and just for all. Recovery plans after COVID-19 should serve as an opportunity to enforce and speed up climate neutrality, which can help us tackle another crisis unfolding all over our planet - climate breakdown."

  • Name: Pilar Díaz Romero
    Position: Mayor of Esplugues de Llobregat
    Land: Spain
  • Name: Rafał Trzaskowski
    Position: Mayor of Warsaw
    Land: Poland

    “Local and regional leaders are fully committed to the Green Deal. We want to implement ambitious, yet realistic targets that will serve our local communities, also by creating new jobs – so desperately needed today, and improving competitiveness of our local businesses. We believe that a more ambitious climate policy can support and not undermine a successful economic recovery from the crisis caused by the pandemic.”